The Hamburg Senate Chancellery approved a proposal from Bruno
Snell (1895-1986), at the time Rector of the University of Hamburg,
for establishing the Europa-Kolleg Foundation. The first Chairman of
the Board was the Romanist literary scholar Hellmuth Petriconi (1895-1965). Siegfried Landshut (1898-1968), who taught Political Science and Sociology at the University of Hamburg, took over the position of Chairman of the Board of Trustees.